New Penn Twp. Board Member Sworn In | Penn-Harris-Madison School Corporation Skip to main content

New Penn Twp. Board Member Sworn In

PHM Board Members sworn in for new term
Jim Garrett (left), Jamie Woods (center) and Gary Fox (right) are sworn in Monday, Jan. 9, 2017 by P-H-M Board Attorney Jeff Johnson

Penn-Harris-Madison’s newest Board of School Trustees member was sworn in last night at the first Board Meeting of the year (Monday, Jan. 9, 2017). James “Jim” Garrett is taking over the Penn Township Seat 3 left vacant when longtime serving Board Member Randy Leliaert completed his term in December 2016. 


Garrett is no stranger to P-H-M; as a 43-year veteran teacher, Garrett started his education career at Schmucker Middle School in 1971 as a Business Education teacher.


“The P-H-M Board of School Trustees and I are delighted to welcome Jim back to P-H-M,” said P-H-M Superintendent Dr. Jerry Thacker. “As a former P-H-M teacher and coach, Jim will provide great insight to the Board. I look forward to working with Jim and the rest of the Board as we all work together to serve the great students and families of P-H-M, one of Indiana’s best school districts. We welcome Jim back into P-H-M’s Triangle of Success!”


During his 20 years at Schmucker he also coached Spartan football, basketball and track middle school teams. Garrett transferred to Penn High School in 1990 continuing to teach Business Education. He became the Head Girls Golf Coach in 1996. During his 18 years as Head Coach, Penn’s Girls Golf teams were Indiana State Champions three times in 2002, 2004 and 2005; and runners-up in 2011 and 2013. The team also won 13 out of 14 Northern Indiana Conference titles, 11 IHSAA Sectional Championships and 10 IHSAA Regional Championships. Garrett, a Ball State University alum, has won numerous coaching recognition awards including Ball State University Alumni Girls Golf Coach of the Year Award, along with being named 2006 National Coach of the Year by the National High School Coaches Association; and was inducted into the Indiana High School Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 2014.


Returning members Gary Fox (Seat 4-Harris Twp.) and Jamie Woods (Seat 2-Penn Twp.) also took the Oath of Office at the January 9 Board Meeting. During the Election of Board Officers for 2017, the following Trustees were re-elected for a continuation of offices: Gary Fox as Board President; Larry Beehler (Seat 5-Madison Twp.) as Vice President; and Chris Riley (Seat 7-At-Large) as Secretary.


For a full list of Penn-Harris-Madison’s Board of School Trustees members, please click here. P-H-M Board Members serve four year terms and Officers serve for one year terms with elections taking place at the beginning of the calendar year.